Blue Flag Certification

Blue Flag Certification for 12 beaches in India

The MoEFCC has selected 12 beaches in India to vie for a ‘Blue Flag’ certification, an international recognition conferred on beaches that meet certain criteria of cleanliness and environmental propriety.

Blue Flag Programme :-
  • The Blue Flag Programme for beaches and marinas is run by the international, non-governmental, non-profit organisation FEE (the Foundation for Environmental Education).
  • It started in France in 1985 and has been implemented in Europe since 1987, and in areas outside Europe since 2001, when South Africa joined.
  • Japan and South Korea are the only countries in South and southeastern Asia to have Blue Flag beaches.
  • Spain tops the list with 566 such beaches; Greece and France follow with 515 and 395, respectively.

Criteria to Meet Blue Flag Certification :- 

There are nearly 33 criteria that must be met to qualify for a Blue Flag certification, such as 
  • Water meeting certain quality standards
  • Having waste disposal facilities
  • Being disabled- friendly
  • Have first aid equipment
  • No access to pets in the main areas of the beach. 
Some criteria are voluntary and some compulsory.

These beaches are at :-
  • Shivrajpur (Gujarat)
  • Bhogave (Maharashtra)
  • Ghoghla (Diu)
  • Miramar (Goa)
  • Kasarkod and Padubidri (Karnataka)
  • Kappad (Kerala)
  • Eden (Puducherry)
  • Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu)
  • Rushikonda (Andhra Pradesh)
  • Golden (Odisha)
  • Radhanagar (Andaman & Nicobar Islands).

Rushikonda Beach :- Rushikonda beach has a solid waste management plant, greywater treatment plant and CCTV cameras. More importantly, the safe zones on the beach have been clearly marked.

Post a Comment